Friday Thoughts: On Book Covers

We all know that famous phrase don’t judge a book by its cover. Normally, we use it to talk about not books, but nowadays it’s a phrase that really should go back to its literal sense.

After all, there are books we see covers for and avoid even without knowing what is inside them. There are also covers which are so beautiful that you buy them without thought (often only to find out it has the worst writing inside it.

You would have thought we would have learnt by now. However most book lovers… we just have a complete love for our shelves looking just as pretty as our stories.

Books I avoid:

Books with girls on the cover wearing puffy dresses:

462f509c9997433d844f6ff6d4223acb_250x377

I’ve seen three or four different series with covers EXACTLY like this. Girl posing uncomfortably in a dress you know she can’t walk in. And I just… I cant never remember what book is what. And in all of them, the plots are so similar? (I have actually read the above. It was good, but not amazing same can be said for a few others so I no longer bother)

this:

51ypyq29axl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

I just…. this is a MG/YA book yet it looks really really dodgy.

I also tend to avoid any film adaptations covers – I prefer to imagine characters as I read rather than having actors face in my head beforehand.

Books I always go for:

arabian-nights2

fairy-books-folio-society

9780241256572

… I have such expensive taste.

Basically for me, its bright colours and pretty illustrations (added bonus if the inside is just as pretty)

This is the stupid thing though; book covers are vain. We all know they make no difference to what is inside- the words we are meant to be buying- but we care all the same. And publishers cater to that vanity.

Look at the Hunger Games:

mockingjay_novel

These are the covers that I own. Simple and effective, and apparently ‘adult’ covers? Because apparently, adults get ashamed when they read ya books without more mature covers?  Even when I bought them, there were already a few other cover designs out there, and then these ones came out:

cb56f8d2-4da9-4210-81b6-1cba1a9fe28f

These bright, graffiti style covers, which, to this day, I still hate. If these had been the first ones that came out and I had seen them knowing nothing about the books, I would never have picked them up. nd if by some miracle I had, I would be highly annoyed; what on this cover screams children killing children for tv entertainment on it?

AND DON’T GET ME STARTED ON THE ENDLESS AMOUNTS OF COVERS THERE ARE FOR HARRY POTTER.

unless its these ones:

house-editions-of-philosophers-stone-all-four-hardbacks_0

(I’m buying all of them and I have no regrets)

So, what covers do you go for? What covers do you avoid?

2 thoughts on “Friday Thoughts: On Book Covers

  1. Helen says:

    Although I know it’s shallow, a bad cover can impact my enjoyment of a book. I always hesitate picking it up and even if I have read and liked it, it will get put in the furthest corners of my shelf and not be picked up (soon).

    Like

  2. I like the minimalistic covers like you, but it usually depends on what I’m in the mood to read and what kind of books I’m looking at. Most of what I have on my shelf are landscapes or a solid color.

    Like

Leave a Reply

