Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

hpcc

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.
While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.
WARNING, SPOILERS AHEAD.
I… don’t know where to even start. I read this (at the time of writing this review) a week ago. I have managed to digest, absorb and think, and I still don’t know what I think of this.
It’s just…fanfiction- and yes, I’m aware JK didn’t write it and therefore it technically is fanfic, but there is a difference between fanfic and fanfic and this is the second one. It has all those ‘things to avoid’ cliches in it- time travelling, AU’s, the villains child (okay but as a fanfic writer can I just say I’ve done that last one but as a ‘nature vs nurture’ idea) and its so full of angst I just had to laugh.
There were times in which I sat there and thought ‘these are not the characters we all know’- Harry acts so out of character (I mean, you can’t tell your kid that it doesn’t matter what house they will be in, then turn around and say you wished they weren’t your son. Like…no?)
Saying that, there were parts I loved. Harry and Draco moments, Albus and Scorpius’ friendship (though seriously they should have gotten together, it read like that the entire way through) the weaponised library, and I found it interesting what they thought would happen if things had changed. (I’m disagreeing with Cedric becoming a death eater, but the evil AU was kinda cool. I wish there was more to see from that)
I think what I wanted more of was Albus’ actual years at Hogwarts. 19 years have passed- so how has the school changed? How have the lessons changed and what did they take away from the war and history? How to the children react and treat each other? What would Albus and Scorpius be like in their ‘normal’ school environment? There were so many questions about the next gen that were not answered that could have been interesting to look at, but instead they kinda just…relived Harrys years…
I’m not disappointed, per se, because the script will never be good read as that. We will not understand the characters as well, will never be able to imagine it as well- because all we have are their lines, not who they are. So I’m still excited to go and see it (april is so…far …away). I’m annoyed at the cliches- but then, that may work on stage.
Everyone who has seen it already has told me how amazing it is, so I keep my hopes up.
3/5 stars (mainly because I JUST DON’T KNOW)
three stars
One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. […] read (and reviewed) The script of CC last year, and was not that impressed with it. Hell, after a lot of people had […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

