The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness

tbr13

What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?
What if you re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.
Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.
Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.

This book… this book is wonderful.

This is my second attempt at reading a Patrick Ness book- the first being The Knife of Never Letting Go, which I never finished, so I went into this slightly nervous that I wouldn’t enjoy it and worried that I had wasted £7.99 on a book.

But I loved it.

Its original and refreshing and hilarious, and I love that it takes the mick out of the cliche Chosen One plots. And all the books (and programmes) in which they happen. I mean, honestly, how many books have we read or seen where the Main falls in love with a vampire? Or when they ‘were all dying beautifully of cancer.’
The thing about the publishing world is that once they know a bestseller, they go after every other book of that type. So after Twilight…after TFioS…

And as much as I do love these books, it does get…tiring.

So here we have a book in which Something is Happening. But our Mains are not the ones involved. They just happen to live in the same place. And really, while all this strange stuff is going on, they just want to get on with school and living.

And our Mains!

Its such a fantastic and diverse cast.

Mainy Mikey, who, at some points in this book, I just wanted to pluck from the page and hug. I think this is the first book (definitely first YA) that has featured a main character with OCD. And not the cringeworthy ‘I’m so OCD!’ squealing character while hovering the floor once (I have read a book with that phrase in before. I did not finish it) But the actual rituals that they cannot break. At one point, Mikey is in tears because he cannot stop himself- and I just wanted to hug him.

Girl He is in Love With Henna, who is trying to find who she is (and who she loves), his sister Mel, and best friend Jared (who happens to basically be Human Catnip).

They are all wonderful.

(I also love that they refer to one character as Call Me Steve. This entertains me most because this is how my best friend and I refer to people)

I also love how each chapter starts. ‘Chatper ____, in which…’ and how it explains what The Chosen One is/would be doing if it was about them. It was really well done, and almost reminds me how much I miss books that do that nowadays.

This is a funny heartwarming, clever book, about ‘normal’ people trying to live through All The Problems we give to Chosen Ones

Leave a Reply

