The Raven Cycle, Maggie Stiefvater


Blue has spent the majority of her sixteen years being told that if she kisses her true love, he will die. When Blue meets Gansey’s spirit on the corpse road she knows there is only one reason why – either he is her true love or she has killed him.
Determined to find out the truth, Blue becomes involved with the Raven Boys, four boys from the local private school (lead by Gansey) who are on a quest to discover Glendower – a lost ancient Welsh King who is buried somewhere along the Virginia ley line. Whoever finds him will be granted a supernatural favour.
Never before has Blue felt such magic around her. But is Gansey her true love? She can’t imagine a time she would feel like that, and she is adamant not to be the reason for his death. Where will fate lead them?

I finished this series nearly a month ago now, but I’m still itching to reread it, still thinking about the characters now.

I loved these books. I love the characters, and the storyline, and (of course) the magic, but honestly, what I love most about this series is Maggie’s beautiful, stunning writing (of which I am so envious of)

She has said before that the point of these books was not necessarily the storyline, but how it was written, and I agree- you can tell someone exactly what goes on in these books but it will never get close to actually reading them.

Not only does the writing take your breath away, making you feel like the magic of Cabeswater the relationships between the characters do as well.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a series where all the main characters are so real. (yes, even Noah). From Gansey- the boy, who, at some points, seems older than anyone else and knows everything, and then at other, says nothing but ‘matchy matchy’, to Ronan, the foul-mouthed farmer boy turned dreamer (who, I think 90% of readers would quite happily befriend. Me included), and from Blue, the only non-physic in a house of them, to Mr Gray, an assassin with morals. And a heart.

The series starts off almost simplify- but also with one of the best openings. Blue and her aunt are waiting for the spirits of the people who will die in the next year, so they can tell them and forewarn them, when Blue sees a spirit herself. None other than ‘that’s all there is’ Gansey.

And so our journey into their world starts, a journey that will end up telling ushow and why Gansey will die.

Of course, the characters end up meeting in person (though, at first, its not exactly friendship) and Blue is drawn into the web that is Ganseys Gang, and his hunt for a Dead-or-Sleeping old Welsh King.

And the plot only grows from there throughout the books. Plots that involve love stories and not-so-love stories, dreams literally coming true, ghosts, characters that seem evil that aren’t and characters that seem nice that aren’t. Dead people living and living people dying and some people that you aren’t sure are exactly real people to start with.

All in all, it’s an amazing series, one that will stay with you, that will leave you wishing the characters were real, one that has some of the best quotes in the world and one that you will want never ever to end.

Favourite quotes:

‘The problem with being weird was that everyone else was normal.’

‘The soul was a fragile traveller’

‘Dreamers are to be classified as weapons.’

‘He was less of himself out loud. His native language was thought.’


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s