Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She’s horribly shy and has always buried herself in the fan fiction she writes, where she always knows exactly what to say and can write a romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.
Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …
A tale of fanfiction, family, and first love

You can count the amount of contemporary fiction I love on one hand, I think, so it means that the few I do adore mean a big thing to me.

This, from the moment I first saw it, has been on that list.

How could it not be, when I understand it perfectly, when its almost a story about me (without the college or lovely guy trying…and failing?…to flirt with me)

I understand Cath. I understand the fear of not being able to go down to get food, just because there is no guide on what to do. I understand the thing of not being too late, not being too early. I understand how sometimes, I wrote to disappears.

I also understand how a book can shape everything.

In this book, its fanfic about ‘Simon Snow.’ (Sidenote, please read Carry On, its amazing) and we get snippets of the ‘real’ books and also what Cath writes as fanfic.

What I love about this is that if you say ‘fanfiction’ to someone, most people automatically think first of terribly written sex scenes between two main characters. I mean, theres a lot of that around, but what this book puts forward is the fanfic that is like another book. Just someone else’s take on it. I think this book makes it more understandable- that fanfic is not (always) a dirty little secret. Sometimes, its just about loving the characters of someone elses book.

I remember when I gave Fangirl to my mother to read, she gave it back to me with the words ‘I think I understand you more now.’ and I think thats kinda true. Not just for the fanfic part- but because this book talks about writing everything. Why to write. Why, sometimes, its impossible to write.

But how, to some people, writing is the biggest part of them. And without that writing, they dont know who they are.

But often, the writers dont realise who they are to others- look at Cath and Levi (I want my own Levi.) a part of her doesnt understand why he likes her, because she doesnt understand that theeres something about her to like. I think everyone has thought that at least once. I love their relationship so much- and I love that he doesnt put her down because of what she writers. I love that he tells her not to give up on her second chance. Everyone needs their own Levi.

One thought on “Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell

  1. Tanja says:

    I love this book too, it’s nice to see fanfiction shown as something normal 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

