The Winners Curse, Marie Rutkoski

winners curse
Synopsis

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Review:
It’s not hard to guess that I love fantasy books, (and romance) but I’m always slightly weary of books that have an online hype. And everywhere I looked, I seemed to see this book. So even though I had it, I put off reading it for ages.
This was half a good idea and half a bad one.
Bad idea for putting it off- 
Short answer: This book was amazing.
 
Long answer: Lots of books have this kind of premise. You know, where boy meets girl and they are on the wrong side and there is lots of fighting and everything? But this one is so beautifully written and so captivating it will keep you reading until you get to the last page.
I have a rule when I read. I will never stay up late when I have work the next morning. There are a few books that have broken this rule- Sarah J Maas always does, and then this one did.
One in the morning came and went. just one more chapter.
Two oclock. just one more chapter.
Three oclock – I’m three quarters through, I may as well finish it.
Quarter to 5 in the morning. Finished. I WANT THE NEXT BOOK.
 
The main problem I normally have with YA romance is that it appears out of no where and takes over. This doesn’t happen in The Winners Curse. The relationship between Kestrel and Arin is slow, and they (sort of) get to know each other before anything happens. I mean, you don’t even know anything will happen for ages. And then theres the fact that, although they care about each other, it is not all consuming. They still think about other things- their friends, family, their beliefs, the things that do not fit into the box of love.
 
The second main problem I have with…all books…is endings. I hate those ending where, although you know, actually, it wouldn’t work, everything magically stops and its all happy ever after.
WELL THROW THAT OUT THE WINDOW.
I have never loved/hated an ending more for this opposite reason!
I was rooting for love in this, I really was, but it’s okay, because no one really does need their heart, do they?
This kinda leads me to why it was a good idea putting it off- because of that wait that is torture from a fantastic first book to a hopeful second. That wait is hell, staring at the calender until the publication date is finally there.
(I’m cheerful because I had an early copy of book two)
 
So if you love fantasy, books that rip your heart out and laugh at you, or any type of romance, I really really think you should read this book.
…Maybe, if you have restrain, wait until you can get your hands on book two at the same time. If not…*hands cake and tissue* 
Sidenote: I am currently half way through book two, the Winners Crime AND OH MY GOD ITS SO GOOD
Leave a Reply

